Gärtnerei

About the Market Garden

The Market Garden is nestled between old garment factories at the crossing of Lützner and Demeringstraße, on the former property of the Toepel Gardens. In 2013, we began to revitalise this nearly 150-year-old garden.

Using a nine-part crop rotation, we grow over 100 varieties of vegetables in three fields. In addition, we cultivate food-bearing vegetables in two covered tunnels and seedlings in a separate glass greenhouse. Two herb plots, an area for experimentation with speciality plants, shrub and blossom garden strips, and “edible hedges” along the fenceline complete the biological diversity. Since 2014, the Garden is also home to 14+ bee colonies from the Beekeepers KirschenGarten.

With the vegetables we grow, we provide the weekly produce for over 35 subscribers to our veggie box service; ingredients for local chefs and our own events; and vegetables for our weekly farmers market in the summer. Since 2015, we are collaborating with the Lindenwerkstätten Panitzsch which provide pumpkins, potatoes and eggs for the veggie box subscription.

The Garden is a training site for agriculture and assignment location for federal volunteers (Bundesfreiwilligendienstleistende), who are mainly responsible for our educational offerings such as tours and workshops with school classes. During the season, we also offer internships for university students. (If interested, please send us an informal application per E-mail)

ANNALINDE Gärtnerei, Lützner Straße 108, 04177 Leipzig

Direct Sale

Seasonal offerings 2018:

fresh vegetables, winter vegetables, honey and herbs from Leipzig-Lindenau!

22. May until end of October

Monday to Friday, from 10 am to 7 pm

Saturday, from 10 am to 2 pm

Milestones

2012 Reclaimed field at Demeringstraße

2013 Built covered tunnel and began cultivating first fields; restoration of greenhouse ruins

2014 Project “Crop rotation” as part of EU program “Youth in action”—renovation of cultivation tables, first fields at Lützner Straße cultivated; designated as the host for volunteers in the Federal Volunteers Program; direct marketing of 15 veggie boxes

2014/15 Rebuilt surrounding wall with grants from Leipzig West Contingency Fund and local media outlets; began cultivation of the second field on Lützner Straße; repurposed former on-site dwelling

2015 Cooperation with Lindenwerkstätten Panitzsch; direct marketing of over 30 veggie boxes; restructuring of the glazing in the glasshouse (Verfügungsfond Leipziger Westen)

2016 Start of daily direct sales; recognition as a training organisation for vegetable cultivation.

Awards

The ANNALINDE market garden was honoured 2015 within the competition „BodenWertSchätzen“ by the Deutsche Bundesstiftung Umwelt and the council of sustainable development with the first price. The category of the competition was „regional- gardening and vegetable cultivation“.

Gärtnerei

Über die Gärtnerei

Unweit des Gemeinschaftsgartens liegt die Gärtnerei eingebettet zwischen alter Trikotage, Lützner- und Demmeringstraße auf dem ehemaligen Gelände der Gärtnerei Toepel. Diese wunderschön gelegene, fast 150 Jahre alte Gärtnerei, haben wir 2013 begonnen wieder zubeleben.

In einer neunteiligen Fruchtfolge bauen wir auf drei Feldern über 100 Sorten Gemüse – von Aubergine bis Zucchini – an. Zusätzlich bewirtschaften wir zwei Folietunnel mit Fruchtgemüse und ein Glasgewächshaus zur Anzucht von Jungpflanzen. Zwei Kräuterbeete und ein Bereich zum Experimentieren mit Sonderkulturen, Stauden- und Blühstreifen sowie essbare Hecken an den Zäunen erweitern die biologische Vielfalt in der Gärtnerei. In der Gärtnerei haben seit 2014 über 14 Bienenvölker der Imkerei KirschenGarten ihren Standort gefunden.

Wir versorgen mit dem angebauten Gemüse über 35 Abnehmer einer wöchentlichen Gemüsekiste, befreundete Gastronomen, eigene Veranstaltungen und betreiben im Sommer einen wöchentlichen Hofverkauf. Seit 2015 bauen wir Kürbisse und Kartoffeln in Kooperation mit den Lindenwerkstätten Panitzsch an. Für die Gemüsekiste beziehen wir von den Werkstätten zudem Eier.

Die Gärtnerei ist Ausbildungsbetrieb im Gemüsebau, Einsatzstelle für vier Bundesfreiwilligendienstleistende, die vor allem auch Angebote im Bereich Bildung, wie Führungen oder Workshops mit Schulklassen vor Ort durchführen. Über die Saison bieten wir zusätzlich Praktikaplätze für StudentInnen an (bei Interesse bitte formlose Anfrage per Mail).

ANNALINDE Gärtnerei, Lützner Straße 108, 04177 Leipzig

Direktverkauf

Saisonales Angebot: Frisches Gemüse, Lagergemüse, Honig und Kräuter aus Lindenau!

November bis April

Montag bis Freitag, 10 bis 16 Uhr

Mai bis Oktober

Montag bis Donnerstag, 10 bis 19 Uhr
Freitag, 10 bis 16 Uhr

 

Meilensteine

2012 Urbarmachen des Ackers Demmeringstraße

2013 Aufbau Folietunnel und Bewirtschaftung des ersten Ackers; Rückbau Gewächshausruinen

2014 Projekt „Fruchtfolge“ im EU Programm „Jugend in Aktion“ – Sanierung der Anzuchttische, Urbarmachung des ersten Ackers Lützner Straße; Einsatzstelle im Bundesfreiwilligendienst; Direktvermarktung über 15 Gemüsekisten

2014/15 Erneuerung der Einfriedung durch den Verfügungsfond Leipziger Westen und der Medienanschlüsse; Urbarmachung des zweiten Ackers Lützner Straße; Umnutzung des ehemaligen Wohnhauses

2015 Kooperativer Anbau Lindenwerkstätten Panitzsch; Direktvermarktung über 30 Gemüsekisten; Sanierung der Einglasung am Glasgewächshaus durch den Verfügungsfond Leipziger Westen; Einsatzstelle für Maßnahme in der Jugendberufshilfe

2016 Beginn täglicher Direktverkauf; Anerkennung als Ausbildungsbetrieb im Gemüsebau

Auszeichnungen

Die ANNALINDE Gärtnerei ist 2015 im Wettbewerb “BodenWertSchätzen” der Deutschen Bundesstiftung Umwelt und des Rats für nachhaltige Entwicklung mit dem 1. Preis in der Kategorie “regionaler Garten- und Gemüsebau” ausgezeichnet worden.