Obstgarten

Orchard

With the orchard project, we are taking the next step from community gardening in the city to supporting orchards in the city. At the Citizens Train Station in Plagwitz, we developed a 3400 square metre urban orchard meadow with emphasis on regional and heirloom fruit varieties. From apples to hawthorn, our space will be home to a multitude of fruit varieties, high, mid and low-stem; shrubs; and climber vines. As the site matures, there will be a site-specific planting of wildflowers, grasses and herbs.

Financial support for the orchard came from the LUSH Charity Pot.

 

Annalinde Obstgarten, Bürgerbahnhof Plagwitz, Limburgerstraße corner of Röckener Straße, 04229 Leipzig
51°19’23.5″N / 12°19’20.7″E

News

In the Season 2016, we planted ground vegetation to foster ideal soil conditions, and the groundwater levels were surprisingly quick to balance. Accordingly, we were able to plant the first half of the orchard trees last autumn.

The Orchard was completed in 2017.

Meadow Orchard

Because of the irregular distribution of the fruit trees throughout the orchard and the accumulations of dead wood and small shrubs in the space, the meadow orchard is rich in habitats and microbiotopes with diverse water and light conditions. In addition, there is the annual mowing or “grazing” of the space, which creates temporary habitats for high-growing grasses and herbs. These habitats encourage a variety of insects, reptiles and birds to populate the landscape and to interact to form a resilient ecosystem.

Therefore, in addition to the fruit production, the Meadow Orchard contributes to environmental preservation and urban biodiversity.

Citizens Train Station Plagwitz (Bürgerbahnhof Plagwitz)

Since 2013, the approximately thirteen-hectare area of the former industrial train station Leipzig-Plagwitz is being transformed into the urban greening project “Gleis-Grün-Zug” (Platform-Green-Train). Between Karl-Heine-Straße and Schwarzstraße, green areas are being connected by bicycle and pedestrian paths. The Initiative Bürgerbahnhof Plagwitz is cooperating to realise about 8000 square metres of local projects.

More information: www.buergerbahnhof-plagwitz.de

Sponsor a tree

Starting now, you can be a sponsor to a fruit tree in our orchard.

For only €8,25 per month, you contribute to the planting, watering, cutting and caring of the trees. Not only that– you will directly support this important effort to create a complete orchard meadow ecosystem in Leipzig.

A tree sponsorship is a living, growing gift!

As a sponsor, you will receive an annual letter from your tree, with info on harvest quantity, growth, illnesses etc. as well as an invitation to the annual party in the orchard. Of course, you can also pitch in on the planting and harvesting while taking part in pruning, care courses, and other offerings.

Interested?

The current planting list (July 2018) is here:

Obstbaumneupflanzungen und -bestand 2018 (PDF)

Please contact us for more information. We are happy to answer any questions!

Donated planted trees

The following trees were donated for planting:

2015

  • Hedelfinger Riesenkirsche [giant cherry], Joblinge AG
  • Hauszwetschge [house plum] „Wolff“, General Consulate, Czech Republic

2016

  • Grävensteiner Herbstapfel [autumn apple], BUND Leipzig
  • Anna Späth [plum], Joblinge AG
  • Korbiniansapfel/KZ-3 [apple], Pfarrgarten Saxdorf (Karl-Heinz Zahn and Hans-Peter Bethke)

Obstgarten

Obstgarten

Mit dem Projekt Obstgarten gehen wir den nächsten Schritt vom Gemeinschaftsgarten über die Stadtgärtnerei hin zum Streuobstbau in der Stadt. Am Bürgerbahnhof Plagwitz entwickeln wir auf 3400 Quadratmetern eine urbane Streuobstwiese mit Fokus auf regionale und alte Obstsorten. Von Apfel bis Weißdorn wird es auf unserer Fläche viele verschiedene Obstsarten als Hoch-, Mittel und Nieder-stamm, Strauch, Kraut und Spalier geben. Begleitet wird dies durch standortangepasste Aussaaten von Wildblumen, Gräsern und Kräutern.

Der Aufbau des Obstgartens wurde unterstützt durch den LUSH Charity Pot.

 

ANNALINDE Obstgarten, Bürgerbahnhof Plagwitz, Limburgerstraße Ecke Röckener Straße, 04229 Leipzig
51°19’23.5″N / 12°19’20.7″E

Aktuell

In der Saison 2016 hat die Vegetation auf der Fläche den Boden mit ihrer Wurzeln überraschend schnell aufgewertet. So dass die Vernässung stark abgenommen hat. Aus diesem Grund konnten wir im letzten Herbst die erste Hälfte der Obstbäume pflanzen.

2017 wird der Obstgarten vervollständigt.

Streuobst

Durch die mehr oder minder unregelmäßige Streuung der Obstgehölze auf den Flächen, durch kleinräumige Reliefunterschiede sowie durch Ansammlungen von Totholz und kleinen Hecken ist die Streuobstwiese reich an Habitaten und Mikrobiotopen mit unterschiedlichen Wasser- und Lichtverhältnissen. Hinzu kommt die jährliche Mahd oder Beweidung der Flächen wodurch Perioden mit hochstehenden Gräsern und Kräutern weiteren Lebensraum bieten. Diese Faktoren sind für eine Vielzahl von Insekten, Kriechtieren und auch Vögeln fördernd, welche die Kulturlandschaft bevölkern und durch ihr Zusammenspiel ein resilientes Ökosystem ermöglichen.

Neben dem Anbau von Obst tragen wir so zu Umwelt- und Artenschutz sowie der Förderung der Biodiversität im urbanen Raum bei.

Bürgerbahnhof Plagwitz

Die ca. 13 Hektar große Fläche des ehemaligen Industriebahnhofs Leipzig-Plagwitz wird seit 2013 Stück für Stück zum Stadtbegrünungsprojekt „Gleis-Grün-Zug“ umgebaut. Zwischen Karl-Heine-Straße und Schwarzstraße werden verschiedene Grünflächen durch Rad- und Fußwege verbunden werden. Durch die Mitwirkung der Initiative Bürgerbahnhof Plagwitz können auf ca. 8000 Quadratmetern Bürgerprojekte unter der Trägerschaft der Stiftung ecken wecken realisiert. Werden.

Weitere Infos: www.buergerbahnhof-plagwitz.de

Obstbaumpatenschaft

Ab jetzt könnt ihr eine Obstbaumpatenschaft in unserem Obstgarten übernehmen.

Mit 8,25€ pro Monat helft Ihr nicht nur den Bäumen und uns, indem, Pflanzung, Bewässerung, Schnitt und Pflege mitfinanziert werden. Ihr Unterstützt auch nachhaltig unsere Arbeit bei der Schaffung einer ökologisch intakten Streuobstwiese in der Stadt.

Eine Baumpatenschaft ist ein lebendes, wachsendes Geschenk!

Als Paten bekommt ihr einmal im Jahr einen Brief von eurem Bäumchen, mit Infos zu Erntemengen, Wachstum, Krankheiten, usw. sowie eine Einladung zum jährlichen Fest im Obstgarten. Natürlich könnt ihr auch selbst mit pflanzen und ernten und bekommt die Möglichkeit an Schnitt- und Pflegekursen und anderen Angeboten teilzunehmen.

Interesse bekommen?

Die aktuelle Liste für die Pflanzungen 2016 befindet sich hier:

Obstbaumneupflanzungen und -bestand 2016 (PDF)

Alle fragen beantworten wir gern!

Als Spenden gepflanzte Bäume

Folgende Bäume wurden uns zur Pflanzung gespendet:

2015

  • Hedelfinger Riesenkirsche, Joblinge AG
  • Hauszwetschge „Wolff“, Generalkonsulat d. Tschechischen Republik

2016

  • Grävensteiner Herbstapfel, BUND Leipzig
  • Anna Späth, Joblinge AG
  • Korbiniansapfel/KZ-3, Pfarrgarten Saxdorf (Karl-Heinz Zahn und Hans-Peter Bethke)