Urbane Agrikultur

The ANNALINDE gGmbH is constantly striving for developing projects in the range of urban agriculture and to expand the multifunctional character. To this, we initiate own projects, participate in research projects and merge in cooperations with actors of a sustainable urban development.

KoopLab

Participation through cooperative free space development.

Developing “Ankunftsquartiere” (“arriving districts”) jointly.

 

The growing diversity in German cities requires new solutions for issues of social cohesion. Is it possible that free spaces contribute to a cohabitation which is coined by dialogue and neighbourly unity?

Led by this question, KoopLap explores innovative methods of cooperative free space development which bring together citizens at all three project locations. Science, urban planning, housing associations, city administration and civic clubs work together for the project. The spatial focus of KoopLab is on so-called “Ankunftsquartiere” (“arriving districts”) which are coined by social disadvantage, migration and high residential density. Collaborative, the participants will design and develop green- and free spaces close to their homes. Thus, we hope to support participation opportunities and to contribute to an ecological upgrading of the districts.

 

Case studies

In the three communes: Dortmund, Hannover and Leipzig, KoopLab wants to develop project locations together with citizens to find out more about potentials of free spaces.

 

The city Leipzig experienced in the past 25 years a development from a massive shrinking to a dynamic growth, which remains since 2010 and mostly affects districts nearby the city centre. The high influx leads to rising rents, constructional compression and rising social inequality. The immigration became more and more international in the past years and led to a higher diversity in the population.

 

The focus of the subproject in Leipzig is on the districts in the east of Leipzig where since the 1990s migration coined districts evolved. In these districts, a concentration of social disadvantage accompanies a new, young and increasing international immigration. The central location, good infrastructural facilities as well as new parks and socio-cultural initiatives led to a fast decrease of the vacancy rate, rising rents and a stronger utilization pressure on green- and free spaces in the districts.

 

“Verbundkoordinator” (“network anchor”):

“Institut für Migrationsforschung und Interkulturelle Studien“ (“Institute for migration research and intercultural studies”) (IMIS), University Osnabrück (Jun.-Prof. Dr. Antoine Schmiz)

Project website: www.kooplab.de

Leipzig group:

„Helmholtz Zentrum für Umweltforschung“ („Helmholtz centre for environmental research“) UFZ

City Leipzig, Commission for greenery and waters

ANNALINDE gGmbH

 

The project KoopLab is funded from 2018 until 2020 in the framework of research strategy “Zukunftsstadt” (“future city”) from the “Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung” (“federal ministry of education and research”)BMBF

Urban agriculture in West Leipzig

From 2016 to 2018, the Federal Agency for Nature Conservation (BfN) was sponsoring our participation in the project “Urban Agriculture in West Leipzig” In this project, we cultivate multifunctionality in both social and ecological dimensions and strive to adopt technological innovations to improve local conditions.

 

Ecological dimension

Urban farmland complete and connect existing urban biotopes and therefore contribute directly to the protection and restoration of urban biological diversity. Simultaneously they support potentials of urban ecosystem services and improve the quality of life in the city. In addition, aspects like protection of resources according to a sustainable, urban recycling economy come along.

In our gardens, we tried out and implemented alternative cultivation methods as well as technological innovations. With eco-friendly cultivation, we create high-quality areas in urban space which contribute to the effective protection of biological diversity as habitats and retreats for the different animal- and plant species. Furthermore, the greenspaces comply with important urban ecological and urban climatic functions for example in connection with the ground-water formation, production of fresh-air and soil protection. That’s how the project contributes to urban adjustment to climate change in Leipzig.

 

Social dimension

Urban agriculture obtains citizens as consumers or producers and thereby presents a new form of social participation. That’s how it contributes to nutrition autonomy and so that to a partly independence of social benefits and to the creation of a higher social justice. Furthermore, urban agriculture contributes effectively to a sensitization for ecological products and develops offers regarding the “formation of sustainable development” (“Bildung für Nachhaltige Entwicklung” (BNE)).

In the framework of the project, target-group-specific offers for the “formation of sustainable development” (“Bildung für Nachhaltige Entwicklung” (BNE)) were worked out and the democratisation of municipal nutrition strategies was funded, for example in the framework of “Essbare Stadt Leipzig“. The gardens see themselves as a place for experience-based and action-oriented learning at which nature should be tangible again, even in the city. With help of a co-constructive learning approach (feel, taste, contribute) we make our topics perceptible and convey shaping skills. Trainees are put in a position to make decisions based on their knowledge, by which sustainable development processes can be achieved. Integration of people with specific needs and the orientation of the purpose enterprise as integrative market garden plays an important role.

 

Project flyer (PDF)

Project report follows.

 

The project was funded by the „Bundesamt für Naturschutz“ („federal agency for nature conservation”)- BfN with means of the „Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz, und nukleare Sicherheit” (“federal ministry for the environment, nature conservation and nuclear safety”)- BMUB

nascent

New chances for a sustainable food industry due to transformative economic forms

 

The entrenched nutrition system is in crisis. New economic forms and -initiatives present an interesting starting point for such a transformation of the conventional nutrition system. That’s not only clarified by diverse food scandals, but also by environmental pollution, climate change, overfertilization or supply problems in the countryside. Therefore, a transition to a more sustainable subsistence strategy is necessary for the nutrition sector. New economic forms and -initiatives with the focus on social- and environmental issues constitute an interesting starting point for such a transformation of the conventional nutrition system.

 

New economic forms and -initiatives as for example urban gardening projects, solidary agriculture or producers-consumers-communities are coined by a new understanding of the interaction of consumers and producers. Here, not just the external supply of the consumer is paramount but rather the cooperation and aptitude for sustainable practices. Urban gardening projects involve voluntary and collaborative horticulture on urban land, solidary agriculture (also CSA= community-supported agriculture) relates to groups of consumers on the local level which collaborate with a contract farmer. The consumers give for a specific period a guaranteed purchase of agricultural products and in return, participate in several ways in the production. Producers-consumers-communities organise the merge of consumers for the joint purchase of a high quantity of food, directly from the producers. Thus, it’s about the enabling of a more transparent and more self-determined consumption.

Nascent examines the potential of a transformation of the established nutrition system which comes from these initiatives. For this, initiatives in five regions of Germany are examined: Oldenburg and surrounding area, Berlin and surrounding area, Leipzig and Dresden, München and surrounding area and Freiburg im Breisgau and surrounding area. Furthermore, also the development in other states will be considered, examine the cooperations with partners abroad. The project team wants to work out a typology of initiatives, distilling the different motives and interests. By means of these outcomes, the scientists want to point out diffusion potential and want to provide a target-group-specific range of information, to supportive forward a sustainable development of the nutrition system.

 

“Verbundkoordinator” (“network anchor”): University Oldenburg

„Verbundpartner“ („composite partners“): University Stuttgart, „Stiftungsgemeinschaft“ („foundation community“)Anstiftung“ and „Ertomis“

„Praxispartner“ („practice partner“) Leipzig/Dresden: deinHof“ („yourfarm“), ANNALINDE gGmbH

 

Further information: http://www.nascent-transformativ.de/english/?noredirect=en_US

 

The project „nascent- New opportunities for a sustainable food system through transformative enterprise models” was funded from 2015 until 2018 in the framework of the programme FONA – Research for Sustainable Development and in the “Fördermaßnahme Nachhaltiges Wirtschaften” (“support measures sustainable management”)– socio-economic research of the “Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung” (“Federal Ministry of Education and Research”)Fona (BMBF).

Urbane Agrikultur

Die ANNALINDE gGmbH ist ständig bestrebt Projekte und Vorhaben im Bereich der Urbanen Agrikultur zu entwickeln und den multifunktionalen Charakter weiter auszubauen. Hierzu werden eigene Projekte initiiert, sich an Forschungsvorhaben beteiligt sowie Kooperationen mit Akteuren einer nachhaltigen Stadtentwicklung geschlossen.

KoopLab

Teilhabe durch kooperative Freiraumentwicklung

Ankunftsquartiere gemeinschaftlich entwickeln

 

Die steigende Diversität in deutschen Städten erfordert neue Lösungen zu Fragen des sozialen Zusammenhalts. Können Freiräume zu einem Zusammenleben beitragen, das von Dialog und nachbarschaftlicher Verbundenheit geprägt ist?

Von dieser Frage geleitet, erprobt KoopLab innovative Methoden der kooperativen Freiraumentwicklung, die Bewohnerinnen und Bewohner an drei Projektstandorten zusammenbringen sollen. Wissenschaft, Stadtplanung, Wohnungsgesellschaften, Stadtverwaltungen und zivilgesellschaftliche Vereine arbeiten gemeinsam für das Projekt. Der räumliche Fokus von KoopLab liegt auf sogenannten Ankunftsquartieren, die von sozialer Benachteiligung, Migration und einer hohen Wohndichte geprägt sind. Die Beteiligten des Projektes werden wohnungsnahe Grün- und Freiräume gemeinschaftlich gestalten und entwickeln. Dadurch hoffen wir, Teilhabemöglichkeiten in Ankunftsquartieren zu fördern und zu einer ökologischen Aufwertung der Quartiere beizutragen.

 

Fallstudien
In den drei Kommunen Dortmund, Hannover, Leipzig will KoopLab Projektstandorte mit Bewohnerinnen und Bewohnern gemeinschaftlich entwickeln, um mehr über die Potenziale von Freiräumen zu lernen.

 

Die Stadt Leipzig hat als „Stadt der Extreme“ (Rink 2015) in den letzten 25 Jahren eine Entwicklung von einer massiven Schrumpfung hin zu einem dynamischen Wachstum erlebt, welches nunmehr seit 2010 andauert und sich insbesondere auf die innenstadtnahen Stadtteile auswirkt. Die hohen Zuzugszahlen führen zu steigenden Wohnkosten, baulicher Verdichtung und wachsender sozialer Ungleichheit. In den letzten Jahren hat sich die Zuwanderung nach Leipzig deutlich internationalisiert und zu einer größeren Diversität der Bevölkerung beigetragen.

 

Der Fokus des Leipziger Teilprojekts liegt auf den Ortsteilen im Leipziger Osten, wo sich seit den 1990er Jahren migrantisch geprägte Viertel in Innenstadtnähe herausbildeten. In diesen Ortsteilen geht eine Konzentration sozialer Benachteiligung mit einer neuen, jungen und zunehmend internationalen Zuwanderung einher. Die zentrale Lage, eine gute infrastrukturelle Ausstattung sowie neue Parks und sozio-kulturelle Initiativen führen zu einer schnellen Abnahme des Leerstands, steigenden Wohnkosten und einem stärkeren Nutzungsdruck auf Grün- und Freiflächen im Stadtteil.

 

Verbundkoordinator:

Institut für Migrationsforschung und Interkulturelle Studien (IMIS), Universität Osnabrück (Jun.-Prof. Dr. Antonie Schmiz)

Projektwebseite: www.kooplab.de

Verbund Leipzig:

Helmholtz Zentrum für Umweltforschung UFZ

Stadt Leipzig, Amt für Stadtgrün und Gewässer

ANNALINDE gGmbH

 

Das Projekt KoopLab wird von 2018 bis 2020 im Rahmen der Forschungsstrategie „Zukunftsstadt“ gefördert vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung – BMBF.

Urbane Agrikultur im Leipziger Westen

Von 2016 bis 2018 bildeten wir im Projekt „Urbane Agrikultur im Leipziger Westen“, gefördert durch das BfN mit Mitteln des BMUB, unsere Multifunktionalität in der sozialen und ökologischen Dimension weiter aus und versuchten Innovationen zu adaptieren.

 

Ökologische Dimension

Urbane Landwirtschaftsflächen ergänzen und verbinden vorhandene städtische Biotope und tragen damit direkt zum Schutz und zur Wiederherstellung der urbanen biologischen Vielfalt bei. Gleichzeitig unterstützen sie die Potentiale städtischer Ökosystemleistungen und verbessern auf diese Weise die Lebensqualität in der Stadt. Hinzu kommen Aspekte des Ressourcenschutzes im Sinne einer nachhaltigen, urbanen Kreislaufwirtschaft.

In unseren Gärten wurden alternative Anbaumethoden sowie technische Innovationen erprobt und umgesetzt. Mit naturverträglicher Bewirtschaftung schaffen wir ökologisch hochwertige Flächen im urbanen Raum, die effektive Beiträge zum Schutz der biologischen Vielfalt leisten können, etwa Lebens- und Rückzugsräume für verschiedene Tier- und Pflanzenarten. Darüber hinaus erfüllen die Grünflächen wichtige stadtökologische und stadtklimatische Funktionen, etwa im Zusammenhang mit Grundwasserneubildung, Frischluftproduktion und Bodenschutz. Somit leistet das Projekt einen wichtigen Beitrag zur urbanen Anpassung an den Klimawandel in der Stadt Leipzig.

 

Soziale Dimension

Urbane Agrikultur bezieht die BewohnerInnen als VerbraucherInnen und/oder ProduzentInnen ein und stellt damit eine neue Form gesellschaftlicher Teilhabe dar. Sie leistet so einen Beitrag zur Ernährungsautonomie und damit zur teilweisen Unabhängigkeit von Sozialleistungen und zur Schaffung größerer sozialer Gerechtigkeit. Darüber hinaus trägt urbane Agrikultur effektiv zu einer Sensibilisierung für ökologische Produkte bei und entwickelt Angebote im Hinblick auf die Bildung für Nachhaltige Entwicklung (BNE).

Im Rahmen des Projektes wurden zielgruppenspezifische Angebote zur Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung erarbeitet und die Demokratisierung kommunaler Ernährungsstrategien, etwa im Rahmen der „Essbaren Stadt Leipzig“ gefördert. Die Gärten verstehen sich als Ort erfahrungsbasierten und handlungsorientierten Lernens, an dem die Natur auch in der Stadt wieder greifbar werden soll. Über einen ko-konstruktiven Lernansatz machen wir unsere Themen durch Anfassen, Schmecken und Mitmachen sinnlich erlebbar und vermitteln Gestaltungskompetenz. Die Lernenden werden in die Lage versetzt, auf Basis ihres Wissens Entscheidungen zu treffen, mit denen sich nachhaltige Entwicklungsprozesse verwirklichen lassen. Eine wichtige Rolle spielt die Integration von Menschen mit besonderen Bedürfnissen und die Ausrichtung des Zweckbetriebes als integrative Gärtnerei.

 

Projektflyer (PDF)

Projektbericht folgt.

 

Das Projekt wurde gefördert vom Bundesamt für Naturschutz (BfN) mit Mitteln des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit (BMUB).

nascent

Neue Chancen für eine nachhaltige Ernährungswirtschaft durch transformative Wirtschaftsformen

 

Das etablierte Ernährungssystem befindet sich in der Krise. Neue Wirtschaftsformen und -initiativen stellen einen interessanten Ansatzpunkt für eine solche Transformation des konventionellen Ernährungssystems dar
Das verdeutlichen nicht nur diverse Lebensmittelskandale, sondern auch Umweltverschmutzung, Klimawandel Überdüngung oder Versorgungsprobleme auf dem Land. Ein Wandel zu einer nachhaltigeren Wirtschaftsweise ist daher auch im Ernährungsbereich notwendig. Neue Wirtschaftsformen und -initiativen, bei denen soziale und Umweltbelange stärker im Zentrum der Aufmerksamkeit stehen, stellen einen interessanten Ansatzpunkt für eine solche Transformation des konventionellen Ernährungssystems dar.

 

Neue Wirtschaftsformen und -initiativen, wie beispielsweise Urban Gardening Projekte, Solidarische Landwirtschaft oder Erzeuger-Verbraucher-Gemeinschaften, sind geprägt von einem neuen Verständnis des Zusammenwirkens von Konsumenten und Produzenten. Bei ihnen steht nicht mehr nur die Fremdversorgung der Verbraucher im Vordergrund, sondern stärker die Zusammenarbeit und Befähigung zu nachhaltigen Praktiken. Bei Urban Gardening Projekten handelt es sich um freiwilligen und gemeinschaftlichen Gartenbau auf städtischen Flächen, bei der Solidarischen Landwirtschaft (auch CSA = community-supported agriculture) kooperieren Gruppen von Verbrauchern auf lokaler Ebene mit einem Vertragslandwirt. Die Verbraucher geben für einen bestimmten Zeitraum eine Abnahmegarantie der landwirtschaftlichen Erzeugnisse und nehmen im Gegenzug auf unterschiedliche Weise an der Produktion teil. Erzeuger-Verbraucher-Gemeinschaften organisieren den Zusammenschluss von Verbrauchern zum gemeinsamen Einkauf größerer Lebensmittelmengen direkt vom Erzeuger. Es geht somit um die Ermöglichung eines transparenteren und selbstbestimmteren Konsums.

Nascent untersucht die Potenziale zur Transformation des etablierten Ernährungssystems, die von diesen Initiativen ausgehen. Dafür werden Initiativen in fünf Regionen Deutschlands untersucht: Oldenburg und Umland, Berlin und Umland, Leipzig und Dresden, München und Umland und Freiburg im Breisgau und Umland. Außerdem wird durch die Kooperation mit Partnern im Ausland auch die Entwicklung in anderen Staaten betrachtet. Das Projektteam möchte eine Typologie der Initiativen erarbeiten, ihre unterschiedlichen Motivationen und Interessen herauskristallisieren. Anhand dieser Ergebnisse wollen die WissenschaftlerInnen Diffusionspotenziale aufzeigen und zielgruppenspezifische Informationsangebote bereitstellen, um eine nachhaltige Entwicklung des Ernährungssystems unterstützend voranzutreiben.

 

Verbundkoordinator: Universität Oldenburg

Verbundpartner: Universität Stuttgart, Stiftungsgemeinschaft anstiftung und ertomis

Praxispartner Leipzig/Dresden: deinHof, ANNALINDE gGmbH

 

weiterführende Informationen: www.nascent-transformativ.de

 

Das Projekt „nascent – Neue Chancen für eine nachhaltige Ernährungswirtschaft durch transformative Wirtschaftsformen“ wurde von 2015 bis 2018 im Rahmen des Programms FONA – Forschung für Nachhaltige Entwicklung und in der Fördermaßnahme Nachhaltiges Wirtschaften – Sozialökologische Forschung vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung – BMBF gefördert.